The Manchester Fiction Prize Open For Submissions Now — Apply

Manchester Writing Prize celebrates Manchester as an international city of writers, finding diverse new voices, and creating opportunities for writer development.
The Manchester Writing Competition offers the UK’s biggest literary awards for unpublished work, offered by the country’s most successful writing school. The Competition was established by Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy in 2008 and has awarded more than £155,000 to writers. The Manchester Fiction Prize Awards the best short story for each year. The Prize was designed to encourage and celebrate new writing across the globe, the competition is open internationally to new and established writers. The £10,000 prize is awarded for the best story (maximum of 2,500 words) and is organised by the Manchester Metropolitan University (“Manchester Met”).

Judges include a lot of notable and established writers such as Alison Moore, Livi Michael, Niven Govinden, and Nicholas Royle who has been the chief judge of the prize since 2009.
The Manchester Fiction Prize” will award one prize: a cash sum of £10,000.00 to the winner(s). The judges may decide to award The Manchester Fiction Prize jointly and divide the cash sum accordingly. The maximum number of winners will be two. The prize money is generated entirely through entry fees and may be reduced if an insufficient number of entries are received.
Entry Fee:
An entry fee of £17.50 would be paid per submission.

Deadline for Entries: entries open now and won’t close till 14th September 2018
Please note that you must be aged 16 or over to apply.
To access the submission form, click here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: