Winner Of The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award
1 min read

Winner Of The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award

The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award is the world’s richest prize for a single short story at £30,000.

It was Co-founded in 2010 by Lord Matthew Evans of EFG and The Sunday Times’s Cathy Galvin.  The prize is an international award that aims to promote and celebrate the excellence of the modern short story.

The winner for 2018 has been announced and Courtney Zoffness received this year’s award of £30,000 for her short story -Peanuts Aren’t Nuts.

Some of the other recipients of this award include – Chinese-American writer Yiyun Li, Kevin Barry, Junot Diaz, Anthony Doerr, Emma Donoghue, Mark Haddon, Sarah Hall, Adam Johnson, Toby Litt, Hilary Mantel, Elizabeth McCracken, Ali Smith, CK Stead, Elizabeth Strout, David Vann and Gerard Woodward.

You can prepare for next years award as submissions are usually open from around July through September. Ensure your short story is up to 6000 words. This award, open to all nationalities, but the author must have a record of prior publication in creative writing in the United Kingdom or Ireland. Other than the winning prize of £30,000, five shortlisted authors each receive £1,000.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *