Tales by Moonlight Contest/ How to Submit ($1500)

The Tales By Moonlight Contest is a novella writing competition. The genre is fiction and the theme is magic/fantasy. The organizers look forward to receiving entries where the writers explore the theme properly.

A novella is a short story between 7,500 – 40,000 words. However, the submission requirements for tales by moonlight might differ from this. Writing a novella is different from how a full length story is supposed to be. Writers who have interest in this aspect of writing should apply for this contest.

As long as the story is your original work and adheres to the competition rules and writing theme, it can be submitted.

The contest winner will be decided through a public voting system.


Submission Guidelines for the Tales by Moonlight Contest

  • Submissions will be accepted until the end of the competition. The competition will end on September 15th.
  • Submissions will be published for voting from August 15th.   The organizers  will only publish stories of adequate quality.
  • All stories submitted for the competition must be in the genre of fantasy. Stories must be written in the theme of Magic.
  • Submissions must have approximately 15,000 – 20,000 word length and be separated into chapters of reasonable length.
  • Entries can be submitted through Ankara Editor, their writing platform.
  • Plagiarized work will not be accepted. Your work must be original.


Tales by Moonlight Contest


  • The competition now offers two prizes: the Community Award and the Editor’s Award.
  • The Community Award is $1000. The winner of the Community Award will be determined by voting. The story with the most votes at the end of the contest will win the award.
  • The Editor’s award is $500. This prize will be given to the most outstanding story as determined by the Ankara Team. There are no set criteria for judging but we will consider writing style, character development, and stories provoking a strong emotional response.
  • All stories are eligible to win both awards.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: