The NLNG Prize for Literature is currently accepting submissions for its 2020 prize. The prize, which is worth $100, 000 in cash prize, is a yearly award for literary works by Nigerian writers, irrespective of where they reside. For prose fiction, Chika Unigwe won the prize in 2012, for her novel “On Black Sisters’ Street”; while the prize went to Tade Ipadeola the following year for his poetry collection, “The Sahara Testaments”. In 2018, Soji Cole won the prize for his play “Embers”, and Jude Idada won it last year for his children’s book “Boom Boom”. This year, the prize will be awarded for a work of prose fiction. The deadline for submissions to the NLNG Prize for Literature is March 31st, 2020.

Who is Eligible:

  • Nigerian writers from anywhere in the world.

How to Submit:

  • Send twelve copies of the entry, a work of prose fiction.
  • The submission must include evidence of Nigerian citizenship (photocopy of Nigerian Passport or National Identity Card).
  • The submission must be accompanied by an application form you can obtain online from the NLNG website, which you would fill and print.
  • All entries must be published; manuscripts won’t be considered.
  • Each entry must have been published after January, 2016. Entries published before then are not eligible.
  • Each entrant can submit only one book.
  • No book that has been previously submitted can be reentered.
  • The deadline for submissions is March 31st, 2020.
  • The submission should be sent, together with all the other required documents, here:

The Nigeria Prize for Literature,
External Relations Division,
Nigeria LNG Limited,
Corporate Head Officer
NLNG Road, Amadi Creek,
Port Harcourt, Rivers State.


The Nigeria Prize for Literature,
External Relations Division,
Nigerian LNG Limited
4th Floor, Heron House,
10 Dean Farrar Street,
London, SW1 H ODX.


  • $100, 000.

Good luck.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: