Submissions are now open for the world’s richest prize for a single short story written in the English Language.

The award, which was launched by Lord Evans of EFG Private Bank and Cathy Calvin of The Sunday Times in 2010, is for a single short story of not more than 6000 words written by any novelist or short story writer who has been published in the UK or Ireland, and is worth £30,000 . The shortlisted authors will also receive £1000 each. This year, the Irish writer Danielle McLaughlin won the prize for her story “A Partial List of the Saved”. The deadline for submissions for the 2020 prize is 6pm on December 13, 2019.

Who is Eligible:

  • Any writer who has had a work of prose fiction published in an established printed magazine in the UK or Ireland.

How to Apply:

  • Submit a story of not more than 6000 words on any theme.
  • The story may have been published or may be unpublished. However, stories published before January 1, 2019 not eligible.
  • The story must be written in English.
  • It must be double-spaced, in Arial font, 12pt, black.
  • On the front page of your submission, include the title of your story and the word count ONLY. The author’s name should not be included anywhere on the document.
  • The file format could be any of the following: doc, dock, or pdf.
  • The deadline for submission is 6pm on December 13, 2019.
  • The longlist will be announced in May 2020, the shortlist in June 2020, and the winner on the 2 of July 2020.
  • Submit here


  • The winner receives £30,000 and publication of the story.

  • The shortlisted writers receive £1000 each.

To better your short story, check out this article: How to Write A Great Short-Story: Lessons from A Short Story Day With TJ Benson.

Good luck.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *