The New Writers Award 2024-2025/ How to Apply (Reward: 2500 +Flight Expense + More)
3 mins read

The New Writers Award 2024-2025/ How to Apply (Reward: 2500 +Flight Expense + More)


We are always thrilled to bring you good news. So we are pleased to announce that applications for the 2025 New Writers Award are now open!

The Award for New writers offers emerging writers an exceptional opportunity to develop their craft and gain recognition in the literary world. With the deadline set for 31 July 2024 at noon, now is the perfect time to prepare your submissions and take the next step in your writing career.

The New Writers Award

Eligibility for The New Writers Award

The New Writers Awards are designed to support a diverse range of emerging writers. Therefore, applicants must meet specific criteria to be considered:

Open to: Emerging writers in various genres, including English, Scots, and a combination of both.
Specific Awards:
Callan Gordon Award: Tailored for writers aged 18 to 35, specializing in short stories or poetry.
Next Chapter Award: Dedicated to emerging writers over the age of 40, applicable in any of the five categories.
– Gaelic Writers Awards: Two awards are available, run in association with the Gaelic Books Council.

Submission Guidelines

To apply for the 2025 New Writers Award, it is essential to follow these detailed guidelines:

1. Application Process:
– Visit the application portal and submit your application by noon on 31 July 2024.
– Select one category to apply for from the following options:
Fiction and Narrative Non-Fiction (also known as creative non-fiction)
– Children’s and Young Adult Fiction
– Spoken Word
– Scots
– If you wish to be considered for the Callan Gordon Award or the Next Chapter Award, you can opt-in through the New Writers Awards application form.
– For those interested in the Gaelic Writers Awards, a separate application form is required.

2.Required Documents:
– Prepare your submission according to the category guidelines provided on the website.
– Ensure all materials are uploaded before the deadline.

How to Apply

To ensure your application is complete and stands out, follow these steps:

1. Step 1: Review the category guidelines on the website to prepare your submission thoroughly.
2. Step 2: Submit your application to the relevant category by noon on 31 July 2024.

The New Writers Awards program runs from January 2025 to January 2026.



During this period, awardees will receive numerous benefits designed to support their creative endeavors:

  • Cash Award: A £2,500 bursary paid in two instalments, allowing you to focus on your writing.
  • Personal Development: Tailored opportunities, including mentoring from established writers and industry professionals.
  • Training: Comprehensive PR, performance, social media, and presentation training.
  • Showcase Opportunities: The chance to present your work to publishers and agents
  • Retreat: A week-long retreat offering time and space to create in idyllic surroundings, subject to circumstances.
  • Membership: A year’s free membership to the Society of Authors, including an SoA training session.

Support and Accessibility:

They understand the importance of accessibility and support. Therefore, they offer several resources to ensure all awardees can fully participate:

  • Travel Expenses: All travel expenses are covered for awardees.
  • More so, access Fund is available to support awardees facing barriers to participation.
  • In addition, the program includes options for remote attendance for mentoring, training, and performances. The team is available to discuss individual access requirements prior to applying.

Additional Information

It is important to note that the New Writers Awards for 2025 will proceed only if the Scottish Book Trust secures the necessary funding. Additionally, the retreat is subject to circumstances and any applicable travel restrictions.

Apply now and take the first step towards realizing your writing dreams with the 2025 New Writers Awards!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *