Quramo Writers’ Prize announces Longlist for 2023
2 mins read

Quramo Writers’ Prize announces Longlist for 2023

The Quramo Writers’ Prize 2023 announces Longlist


The Quramo Writers’ Prize is a literary award for an unpublished work of fiction, open to new and emerging African writers.

In addition to the above, the prize was set up by Quramo Publishing Limited. Also, it comes with a cash prize of ₦1,000,000 to the winner, and more!

After vigorously testing submissions, the long list of the prize was announced late August, 2023.


Chiziterem Chijioke, Obinna Ezeodili, David Vera Sorochi, others for Quramo Longlist 2023The Quramo Writer’s Prize Longlist 2023


The longlist for the 2023 edition of the Quramo Writers’ Prize (QWP) has been announced. The contest is for unpublished African authors intended to inspire a new generation of African writers worldwide.

Further more, the award is sponsored by Quramo, which also annually hosts the cutting-edge Quramo Festival (Qfest). More so, Gbemi Shasore presented the longlist of 20 up-and-coming authors at the Quramo office in Lagos’ Victoria Island to a three-person jury who would cut down the list to make a short list of five. 

The three-person jury, comprised of:

  • Anote Ajeluorou, a journalist and writer,
  • Lechi Eke, a writer and literary critic,
  • And novelist and publisher Eghosa Imasuen. These literary greats were presented with the manuscripts.

The writers whose manuscripts make up the longlist include:

  • Husna Yussif, Obinna Paul Ezeodili, Oluwasegun Odetola, Chidi Nwakpa, Emmanuel Chukwunweike Monyei, Zainab U. Imam,
  • Bisola Faith Akintomide, Mujahid Ameen Lilo, Chiziterem Chijioke, David Vera Sorochi, Grace Aggrey-Fynn and Ishaokanyie Otogbo.
  • Sandra Uche Delumozie, Adejuwon Akande, Truth Bakare, Uduak Alphonsus Ikono, Chike Ibekwe, Darius Kwabena Partey, Chikezie Onwumere, and Chimezie Agumbah are some of the others.       


More Information on the Prize


  • In September, the authors of the five shortlisted manuscripts will be revealed.
  • More so, the winning piece will be selected from the five shortlisted manuscripts and will be revealed at Qfest 2023, which will take place at the Eko Hotel & Suites in Lagos from October 4–8, 2023.
  • Also, the five authors will participate in a panel discussion on their respective books during Qfest 2023.
  • Therefore, the attendees will be able to learn more about them before the prize is presented.
  • In addition to this, ‘Connecting The Dots’ was announced as theme for Qfest 2023.


One thought on “Quramo Writers’ Prize announces Longlist for 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *