3 mins read

THE 2024 ALEXANDER NDERITU PRIZE FOR WORLD LITERATURE IS OPEN FOR SUBMISSIONS (Prize: USD$ 740.00) proudly presents the inaugural Alexander Nderitu Prize For World Literature.

The Prize will be awarded to the best unpublished short story from anywhere in the world and is aimed at launching new literary stars.



Being cognizant of the turbulent times we are currently living in, this year’s theme is simply: ‘Peace’ (Kiswahili: ‘Amani’).


Eligibility Criteria 

  • The contest is open to citizens from all over the globe above 18 years of age.
  • Entries must be previously unpublished and may be written in English or Kiswahili.
  • There is no entry fee.


Submission Guidelines For The Alexander Nderitu Prize For Literature

  • Only one entry per person per year.
  • Submissions should be in a Microsoft Word (doc, docx) document. Format: Times New Roman font, 12-point size, double-spaced.
  • The story, minus the title, must be between 3000 and 5000 words.
  • Pages should be numbered.
  • Only the title of the story and the word count should appear in the document along with the story. No author-identifying information should be included.
  • Submissions shall be via email. Entries should be sent to The subject must be: Submission for Alexander Nderitu Prize For World Literature 2024.
  • It should include the author’s legal name, age, nationality, one-paragraphed authors’ bio, and contact details.
  • Shortlisted entrants may be asked to provide photos and further information.
  • In addition, Prize organizers may publicize the fact that the submitters’ entries have been longlisted or shortlisted for the Prize. Authors retain copyright over their work.
  • Any submissions received after the deadline will not be read.
  • Simultaneous entries are accepted but kindly inform them if your story is accepted elsewhere during the judging period.
  • The winner shall be expected to take part in publicity activities, especially online.
  • Any entries that do not meet all conditions of entry will be automatically disqualified.
  • The judges’ decision is final.




The overall winner shall receive a Kshs 100,000 (USD$ 740.00) cash prize and an online marketing campaign worth another Kshs 100,000; sponsored by IT firm Websoft Interactive.


Judges For The Alexander Nderitu Prize For Literature 

The judging panel includes:

1. Rupasinghe D. Pramudith (Sri Lanka): Winner of the Golden Aster Prize for Global Literature (2020). Known for his cross-cultural works of fiction. CEO of The Asian Group of Literature which includes The Asian Review literary magazine. Has been judging the UK’s prestigious Page-turner awards for two consecutive years.

2. Henry Akubuiro (Nigeria): Playwright, novelist, short story, and children’s literature author. Winner of the 1998 National Essay Competition organized by the Federal Ministry of Youth and Sport and the 1998 BBC World Service Young Reporters’ Competition. He was the runner-up for the ANA Prose Prize (2017) and the Nigeria Media Merit Award Arts and Culture Reporter of the Year (2022). 

3. Alexander Nderitu (Kenya): Poet, novelist, playwright, and critic. Winner of the Business Daily ‘Top 40 Under 40’ Kenyan Men Award (2017), IHRAF Human Rights Playwriting Prize (2021), Share Africa Climate Fiction Award (2022), Sahitto International Prizes for Literature Jury Award (2023), and the SEVHAGE-Agema Founders’ Prize for African Criticism (2023).



The submission window opens on 1May 2024 and closes on 31 May 2024.

For any inquiries regarding the Prize, please email:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *