The 2016 Writivism Prize Joint Shortlist
2 mins read

The 2016 Writivism Prize Joint Shortlist

 The 2016 WRITIVISM prize shortlist has been released.  A warm and hearty congratulations to the shortlisted writers. Below is an official press release:
The joint shortlist for three 2016 Writivism prizes has been announced today (Monday August 1 2016). 
The shortlist was selected by the three different panels of judges for the three respective categories of this year’s prize. 
The Short Story Prize is judged by Tsitsi Dangarembga (chair), Sumayya Lee, Richard Ali A Mutu, Okwiri Oduor and Mamadou Diallo. The Non Fiction prize panel comprises NoViolet Bulawayo (chair), Nana Darkoa Sekyiamah and Yewande Omotoso while the Poetry in Translation judging panel includes Duduzile Mabaso (chair), Juliane Bitek and Toni Stuart (on leave).  
From all of us at Writivism, we say congratulations to the eleven shortlisted emerging writers, who hail from Kenya, Uganda, Ivory Coast, Ghana and Nigeria.  
4th Annual Short Story Prize 
1. Boyi by Gloria Mwaniga Odary (Kenya) 
2. SunDown by Acan Innocent Immaculate (Uganda) 
3. Jene suis pas rentree by Laure Gnagbé Blédou (Ivory Coast) 
4. The Swahilification of Mutembei by Abu Amirah (Kenya) 
5. The List by Aito Osemegbe Joseph (Nigeria)
Kofi Addo Prize for Non Fiction 
1. Lost Futures by S. Y. Tetteh (Ghana) 
2. Missing Wombs by Ama Asantewa Diaka (Ghana) 3. Another One of Those by Kofi Konadu Berko (Ghana
Okot P Bitek Prize for Poetry in Translation
 1. Redscar K’Oyuga (Kenya) 
2. Okwudili Nebeolisa (Nigeria) 
3. Gbenga Adesina (Nigeria) 
The five shortlisted short stories will be published on Munyori Literary Journal later in the week, as in previous years. All the five short fiction shortlisters will attend the 2016 Writivism Festival in Kampala, from August 22, to 28, 2016.
The winners of the Short Story and the Poetry in Translation prizes will be announced at the 4th Writivism festival on Saturday August 27 and 28, 2016respectively. 
The winner of the Non Fiction prize will be announced at a ceremony to be confirmed later in the month.  The winner of the Short Story Prize will take home a cash prize of 400 US$ and take up a one month writing residency at Stellenbosch University in South Africa. Short Story prize shortlisters will attend the Writivism festival and win 100 US $ each. Winners of the Poetry in Translation and Non Fiction prizes will take home a cash prize of 500 US $ each. 
For more information about the prizes, contact us on For more information on the festival, check out

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *