CLMP’S Literary Award For Self-published Authors
1 min read

CLMP’S Literary Award For Self-published Authors

The Community of Literary Magazines and Presses (CLMP), the national nonprofit organization supporting the vital work of small literary publishers, has opened submissions for the 2018 Firecracker Awards. The Firecrackers honor independent literature making a sparkling contribution to literary culture.

Creative nonfiction, fiction, and poetry books, as well as literary magazines published in the 2017 calendar year by small presses or independent authors, are eligible. CLMP’s fair and transparent judging process brings in a national team of first readers who provide multiple readers for each manuscript before passing on recommendations to judges, who have access to all submitted work. Finalists will be announced May 2018, and winners later revealed at a free, open to the public ceremony on June 12th, 2017 at NYC’s Poets House. CLMP will again partner with the American Booksellers Association toward featuring the winning books and magazines at indie bookstores across the country.

More details on the Firecracker Awards are available at:


CLMP, the Community of Literary Magazines and Presses, now celebrating its 50th year, ensures a vibrant, diverse literary landscape by helping small literary publishers work better. We communicate the art of literary publishing to readers, writers, booksellers, librarians, educators, funders and other literary stakeholders, and work to bring all of these communities together. By doing so, essential literary voices from all corners can make their way from writers to readers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *