Check Out The Nominees Of The Grill And Read Annual Readers’ Award
1 min read

Check Out The Nominees Of The Grill And Read Annual Readers’ Award

8th of August, 2017 marked the first edition of the Grill and Read Annual Readers’ Awards. The award ceremony tagged GaRARA 2017 announced 52 nominees in 13 categories. These nominees were officially announced by Speech House International.

The categories are:

Book of the Year, Author of the Year; Discovery of the Year; Book Review Site of the Year; Readers Event of the Year; Book Club of the Year; Celebrity-Reader Motivator of the Year; Readers Show of the Year (Radio or TV); Book Cover of the Year; Publisher of the Year; Reader-Motivator of the Year, Readers Person of the Year; and Library of the Year.

Titles on the shortlist include:

Carnivorous City (Toni Kan); A Tiny Place Called Happiness (Bura-Bari Nwilo); After They Left (Edify Yakusak); Avenger of Blood (Franklin Fynecountry); Route 234 (travel anthology); and The Crazy Nigerian (Tonwapiri Anthony).
The awards are to recognize the literary community to the socio-economic development of the Nigeria. The maiden edition will beam the spotlight on readers and on the strength of readers in society as well as how this strength can be harnessed for change.


In a video announcement on July 28, project initiator and author Abigail Anaba stated in a video that “We received about 200 nominations from the public at the end of the nominations deadline in April, all of which were sent to our nominations panel, Our college of judges spread across a broad spectrum of Nigerians is right about now working assiduously to pick the winners in each category.”




The awards ceremony will hold in Lagos on Saturday 28 October. The public may follow the subsequent activities leading up to the awards online ( and @garara2017).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *