The Miles Morland Foundation Scholarship is open for submissions until 18th September, 2020. The scholarship is awarded annually to writers, to allow them time to write the book they propose to write. The scholarship is awarded in the fiction category and in the nonfiction category. 

Previous winners of the Miles Morland Foundation Scholarship include Kola Tunbosun, Eloghosa Osunde, F.T. Kola, and Elnathan John.


  • The 2020 Miles Morland Foundation Scholarship is open to any writer writing in the English language, who was born in Africa, or whose parents were born in Africa.
  • There is no submission fee.

How to Submit:

  • Submit a writing sample of between 2000 – 5000 words and must be culled from a piece of prose that has been published and offered for sale. The sample must be written in English.
  • Submit a description of between 400 – 1000 words on the work you intend to write
  • The proposal should be for a completely new book.
  • Submit an author’s bio of between 200 – 300 words.
  • Include a scan of an official document showing that you or your parents were born in Africa.
  • NOTE that if you are shortlisted, you will be asked to send a sample chapter of between 3000 – 4000 words of the proposed work.
  • The deadline for submissions is 18th September 2020.
  • Submit here.


  • The selected fiction writer will receive £18,000, which will be paid over the course of twelve months.
  • The selected nonfiction writer grant is at the discretion of the Foundation. 

You can also check out this opportunity, and this



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *