Winners of the 25th International Radio Playwriting Competition Announced
2 mins read

Winners of the 25th International Radio Playwriting Competition Announced

Canadian playwright, Joanne Gutknecht and Brazilian playwright, Pericles Silveira have both been announced winners of the 25th International Radio Playwriting Competition. This announcement was made by the BBC World Service and the British Council, with co-producer The Open University and in partnership with Commonwealth Writers.

According to the press release, “As part of their prize, both Joanne and Pericles will visit the UK later this year to attend a prize-giving ceremony on 26 October at Marlborough House, London. Whilst in the country, they will experience their winning radio scripts being recorded at the BBC ahead of their broadcast on the BBC World Service in 2017.”

Ugandan playwright, Erupu Jude won the Georgi Markov prize for his play Darkness at Dawn. This unique prize honours the script with the most outstanding potential from the competition’s shortlist. It was established ‘in memory of BBC World Service journalist Georgi Markov, who championed freedom of creative expression.’ Erupu will travel to the UK to attend the prize-giving ceremony and spend two weeks at the BBC where he will be mentored by BBC Radio Drama and BBC World Service.

A brief description of The winning plays:

• English as a First Language
Playing With Fire by Joanne Gutknecht
As a wildfire speeds towards their remote house in rural Canada, passion and scandal rages in Daniel’s parents’ marriage.

• English as a Second Language
The Day Dad Stole a Bus by Pericles Silveira
Nayara’s father wants her to see her grandmother’s house after the dam disaster in Bento Rodrigues. But why has he stolen a bus to take her there – and why do things keep disappearing?

• Georgi Markov Prize
Darkness at Dawn by Erupu Jude
Chadwong wrestles with his conscience after his father is killed in a brutal attack on their village. Will his friend persuade him to join the Arrow Boys – and fight?
Congratulations to all the winners.

For more information on the BBC World Service International Radio Playwriting Competition, visit the website HERE.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *