The Winner of the Man Booker International Prize 2013 is…

Source: Photo Pin

…Lydia Davis. Lydia Davis has just been awarded the fifth Man Booker International Prize at an award ceremony at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London.

The judges – Professor Sir Christopher Ricks, Elif Batuman, Aminatta Forna, Yiyun Li and Tim Parks – recognised that crafting spare, philosophical and original works, however short, is not for the lazy at all but takes time, skill and effort.

The Prize, worth £60,000, is awarded for an achievement in fiction on the world stage and Davis’s achievements are writ large despite often using startlingly few words (some of her longer stories only stretch to two or three pages).

Davis has written only one novel – The End of the Story (1995) – a title that both suggests the humour that runs through her work and that is comprehensively gainsaid by the award of the Man Booker International Prize.

For more information, see the Manbookerprize website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: