The Kreative Diadem Annual Creative Writing Contest Shortlist.
2 mins read

The Kreative Diadem Annual Creative Writing Contest Shortlist.

A journal that seeks to “inform, educate, entertain and inspire the world through creative works of literature”, Kreative Diadem is a literary magazine concerned with providing a platform for the newest voices in creative writing, especially young writers. Their most recent issue, Rebel, features works by Frances Ogamba, Ugochukwu Damian, Michael Akuchie, Logan February, and some other amazing writers; it was guest-edited by a Brittle Paper Award-winner for Poetry, J.K. Anowe.

One of the ways Kreative Diadem supports budding new creative writers is by awarding annual prizes in Flash Fiction and Poetry to some of the best of young writers who live in Nigeria, who are 21 years old or younger. The prize, which is worth N100, 000 in cash prizes, is awarded to three winners: the first prize, second prize, and third prize. This year, Kechi Nomu judges the Poetry category, while the Flash Fiction category is judged by the editors of the journal.

On the 16th of December, six shortlists were announced in each category. Here are the shortlisted writers and their entries, in no particular order.


  • “What is Your Body” by Onyekwelu Chiwenite.
  • “Ode to Our Body on Fire” by Anthony Okpunor.
  • “Grief Will Remake” by Ernest Ogunyemi.
  • “How Last Tuesday Became Black Tuesday” by Praise Osawaru.
  • “Remember Us” by Chibueze Obunadike.
  • “Falling Waters” by Lade Falobi.

Flash Fiction:

  • “How Bodies Become Fluid” by Obasiota Ben Ibe.
  • “To Pull a Lion’s Tail” by Boloere Seibidor.
  • “Born Again” by Tunji Akande.
  • “Ayomide” by Nneoma Mbalewe.
  • “The Fallen Angel” by Ebeigbe Brian.
  • “Shey Sugar Wey Enter Tea Dey Come Out” by Ife Olatona.

We are happy for every writer on the shortlist, including Ife Olatona who was one of the 85 commended poets in the Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award 2019, and Ernest Ogunyemi who is curating The Young African Poets Anthology.

The winners will be announced by December 21st, 2019.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *