The 2018 Commonwealth Short Story Prize Shortlist Has Been Released

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize shortlist has been released. It consists of twenty-four outstanding stories selected by an international judging panel from 5182 entries from 48 Commonwealth countries. For the first time, it includes writers from Samoa and Ghana and also a translated story.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2000 – 5000) words in English from the Commonwealth. The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is part of Commonwealth Writers, the cultural initiative of the Commonwealth Foundation. Regional winners receive £2,500 and the overall winner receives £5,000. Short stories translated into English from other languages are also eligible and translators receive additional prize money.
As well as being open to entries translated into English from any language, it is the only literary prize in the world where entries can be submitted in Bengali, Chinese, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan, Swahili, and Tamil.

Chair of the judges, award-winning novelist and short story writer Sarah Hall, had this to say of the shortlist:

The versatility and power of the short story is abundantly clear in this shortlist. With such a range of subject, style, language and imagination, it is clear what a culturally important and relevant form it is, facilitating many different creative approaches, many voices and versions of life.

With a panel of judges also spanning the globe there was a sense of depth and breadth to the selection process, and each commonwealth region showcases the very best of its traditions, adaptations, and contemporary approaches.

This is such a great, unique prize, one that seeks to uphold both literary community and particularity, crossing borders with the ambition of collating our common and unique stories. It is an enormous pleasure, and illuminating, to have been part of the reading process.

The Prize is judged by an international panel of writers, representing each of the five regions of the Commonwealth. The 2018 judges are Damon Galgut (Africa), Sunila Galappatti (Asia), Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm (Canada and Europe) Mark McWatt(Caribbean) and Paula Morris (Pacific).

The 2018 Commonwealth Short Story Prize Shortlist in full:
• ‘Dancing with Ma’, Harriet Anena (Uganda)
• ‘Matalasi’, Jenny Bennett-Tuionetoa (Samoa)
• ‘An Elephant in Kingston’, Marcus Bird (Jamaica)
• ‘Tahiti’, Brendan Bowles (Canada)
• ‘Ghillie’s Mum’, Lynda Clark (United Kingdom)
• ‘Goat’, Sally Craythorne (United Kingdom)
• ‘The Divine Pregnancy in a Twelve-Year-Old Woman’, Sagnik Datta (India)
• ‘Soundtracker’, Christopher Evans (Canada)
• ‘Passage’, Kevin Hosein (Trinidad and Tobago)
• ‘Jyamitik Zadukor’ (The Geometric Wizard) by Imran Khan (Bangladesh)
translated by Arunava Sinha
• ‘Talk of The Town’, Fred Khumalo (South Africa)
• ‘Night Fishing’, Karen Kwek (Singapore)
• ‘Nobody’s Wife’, Chris Mansell (Australia)
• ‘The Boss’, Breanne Mc Ivor (Trinidad and Tobago)
• ‘Holding On, Letting Go’, Sandra Norsen (Australia)
• ‘Empathy,’ Cheryl Ntumy (Ghana)
• ‘A Girl Called Wednesday’, Kritika Pandey (India)
• ‘Chicken Boy’, Lynne Robertson (New Zealand)
• ‘Hitler Hates You’, Michelle Sacks (South Africa)
• ‘After the Fall’, James Smart (United Kingdom)
• ‘Son Son’s Birthday’, Sharma Taylor (Jamaica)
• ‘Berlin Lends a Hand’, Jonathan Tel (United Kingdom)
• ‘True Happiness’, Efua Traoré (Nigeria)
• ‘Juju’, Obi Umeozor (Nigeria)
We say a hearty congratulations to all the shortlisted writers!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: