Granum Foundation Prize/ How to Apply (Prize: $6500)

The Granum Foundation Prize is awarded to give a US-based writer the opportunity to complete a substantive literary work or to commence one. An additional prize is awarded to a work of translation by a US-based writer.

The Granum Foundation prize awards works such as poetry books, essay or short story collections, novels, and memoirs—or to help launch these works.

Additionally, the Granum Foundation Translation Prize will be awarded to support the completion of a work translated into English by a U.S.-based writer.

Funding from both prizes can be used to provide a writer with the tools, time, and freedom to push them a step closer to their dreams. These resources may be used to cover basic needs, equipment purchases, mentorship, or editing services.

Your application should be competitive as it will be able to present a compelling project with a reasonable timeline for completion. They also should be able to demonstrate a record of commitment to the literary arts.

Eligibility for the Prize

  • It is only open to U.S based writers above the age of 18. 
  • Winners and finalists who received cash prizes from the 2021 or 2022 Granum competitions are not eligible.

  • Writers who have published more than five books, including chapbooks, are not eligible. Literary journals and anthologies are not included in this count.

  • The Foundation encourages diversity, equity, and inclusion. They welcome applicants from all backgrounds.

  • Funds cannot be used specifically for travel or for study at an educational institution.

  • At this time, they are not accepting screenplays, stage plays, or children’s picture books.

  • Only one entry is allowed per person.

  • Applications for the 2023 Granum Foundation Prize and the Granum Foundation Translation Prize will be open from until August 1 at 11:59 pm Pacific Time. Winners and finalists will be announced in November.

  • Apply using the given website link for this. 

Granum Foundation Prize


  • Prize: The winner will be awarded $5,000.
  • Up to three finalists will be awarded $500 or more.

Prize for Translation 

Prize: One winner will receive $1,500 or more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *