Photo credit:: Etisalat Prize

The 2015 shortlist for the Etisalat Prize for literature has been announced.

Congratulations to Fiston Mwanza Mujila, Penny Busetto and Rehana Rossouw whose books were announced as the best of the nine longlisted books.

The title of the three shortlisted books are as follows:

“•    Fiston Mwanza Mujila (Democratic Republic of Congo) – Tram 83 (Deep Vellum)
•    Penny Busetto (South Africa) – The Story of Anna P, as Told by Herself (Jacana Media)
•    Rehana Rossouw (South Africa) – What Will People Say? (Jacana Media)

Shortlisted writers will go on a multi-city tour. 1,000 copies of the shortlisted books will be purchased by Etisalat to be distributed to schools, libraries and book clubs across Africa.

The winner will receive £15,000, an engraved Montblanc Meisterstück pen and will attend an Etisalat sponsored fellowship at the University of East Anglia, mentored by Professor Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland.

NoViolet Bulawayo won the inaugural edition of the prize with her widely acclaimed novel, We Need New Names.

Who will win this year? We’ll have to wait until March when the overall winner will be announced. Congratulations to the shortistees.

Chioma Iwunze-Ibiam

Chioma Iwunze-Ibiam writes prose fiction and creative non-fiction. She is the founder of Her first novella, Finding Love Again was published by Ankara Press. Her second novella, The Heiress' Bodyguard was shortlisted for the Saraba Manuscript Awards. She currently works as content marketer for various online businesses. You can follow her at @cwritingnws.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: