Deborah Rogers Foundation Writers Award is Open (Prize: £10,000)
1 min read

Deborah Rogers Foundation Writers Award is Open (Prize: £10,000)

The Deborah Rogers Foundation (DRF) writers award is currently open for first-time prose writers. 

 The Deborah Rogers Foundation (DRF) was set up in memory of Devorah Rogers whose particular genius lay in identifying and supporting talented young people, to continue to seek out and support emerging talent in the publishing world specifically by means of two biennial awards;

  • The Writers Award which gives £10,000 to an unpublished writer to enable them to complete a first book, and 
  • The David Miller Bursary.

Submissions Guidelines for Deborah Rogers Foundation Writers Award

  • Submissions should take the form of 15,000 – 20,000 words of a work in progress, fiction or non-fiction, which is not under option or contract
  • Applicants may not be under contract to any publisher for any work or title in any language
  • Applications are only open to writers who have not previously published or self-published a full-length book of prose (with the exception of a collection of poetry)
  • Entrants must write in the English language and reside within the British Commonwealth or Eire
  • Submissions should be accompanied by a brief synopsis and a short biographical note.
  • Applicants who submitted work for previous Writers Awards may re-apply but the work submitted must be new
  • The winner receives a cheque for £10,000 and each runner-up receives £1,000
  • If your submission is on the longlist you will be notified by email.
  • The shortlist will be announced in October 2023.


An award of £10,000 will be presented to a first-time prose writer whose submission demonstrates literary talent and who would benefit from financial support to complete their work.


Submissions are open until 31st March 2023.

Visit the DRF Writers Award Website to submit. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *