2 mins read


Are you a talented and hardworking journalist who has written an outstanding news report? Are you an African national working as a professional journalist (or a freelancer) working in the media (whether print, television, Internet, photography and radio)? This may interest you.
Recently, CNN International and MultiChoice officially launched the CNN/MultiChoiceAfrican Journalist 2011 Awards.
This year’s competition will recognize excellence in the following categories:
  • Arts & Culture Award
  • Digital Journalism Award
  • Economics & Business Award
  • Environment Award
  • Free Press Africa Award
  • The HIV/AIDS Reporting Award
  • Mohamed Amin Photographic Award
  • MSD Health & Medical Award
  • Print General News Award
  • Radio General News Award
  • Sport Award
  • Television Features Award
  • Television News Bulletin Award
  • Tourism Award
  • Francophone General News Awards
  • Portuguese Language General News Award
The judges will choose the overall winner of the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2011 from these category winners.
The winners of these prestigious annual Awards will be announced at a gala ceremony to be held in Johannesburg, South Africa in June 2011.

Finalists in the 2011 competition will participate in a four-day finalists’ programme that will include a media forum and networking opportunities with senior journalists, editors, business leaders and media owners from across the continent, culminating in a gala awards ceremony in June, 2011.

All finalists receive a cash prize and each category winner also receives a laptop and printer. The CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2011 will receive an additional cash prize and a trip to the CNN Centre in Atlanta.

To enter for this competition, download the application forms here

You can get full details on how to enter by logging on at www.cnn.com/africanawards. The closing date for entries is 27 January 2011. Note that entries received after the closing date may be disqualified. The judging will take place in April, 2011. Interested applicants have more than 45 days to submit their entries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *