The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award – Shortlist Announced

The biggest short story awards just announced its shortlist for the 2016 edition of the Sunday Times EFG short story awards.

Six authors from five countries have been announced for this year’s award. The overall winner will be announced at a gala dinner at Stationers’ Hall in London on Friday, April 22.

The six shortlisted writers and the titles of their short stories are:


  • ‘The Dacha’ by Alix Christie
  • ‘The Human Phonograph’ by Jonathan Tel
  • ‘The News of Her Death’ by Petina Gappah
  • ‘What Time is it Now, Where You Are?’ by Colum McCann
  • ‘Unbeschert’ by Edith Pearlman
  • ‘The Phosphoresence’ by Nicholas Ruddock

Special congratulations to Petina Gappah, winner of the Guardian First Book Award and now longlisted for the Baileys Prize 2016;, for making the shortlist. I’m proud of you. And I hope you win.

Want to read the award-winning stories? Click on the pictures HERE.

I’m off to read the shortlisted stories. That’s one of the ways I’ll get better at this craft.

Chioma Iwunze-Ibiam

Chioma Iwunze-Ibiam writes prose fiction and creative non-fiction. She is the founder of Her first novella, Finding Love Again was published by Ankara Press. Her second novella, The Heiress' Bodyguard was shortlisted for the Saraba Manuscript Awards. She currently works as content marketer for various online businesses. You can follow her at @cwritingnws.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: