1 min read

The Ninth Glass Woman Prize

The Ninth Glass Woman Prize will be awarded for a work of short fiction or creative non-fiction (prose) written by a woman.

Length: between 50 and 5,000 words.

The top prize for the ninth Glass Woman Prize award is US $500 and possible (but not obligatory) online publication; there will also be one runner up prize of $100 and one runner up prize of $50, together with possible (but not obligatory) online publication.

In addition, there will be two further Anonymous Angel awards of $100 each, thanks to a generous donation from a Canadian woman author who wishes to remain anonymous.

Subject is open, but must be of significance to women. The criterion is passion, excellence, and authenticity in the woman’s writing voice. Previously published work and simultaneous submissions are OK. Copyright is retained by the author.

There is no reading fee.

Previous winners are welcome to submit again for any subsequent prize.

Submission deadline: March 21, 2011 (receipt date; anything received after that date will be considered for a future prize).

Notification date: on or before June 21, 2011.

The winners will be announced on their web page. Submissions will not be returned, rejected, or otherwise acknowledged except for the winner and results announcement on this web page. I promise that every submission will be read with respect and with commitment to the voices of women in this world.

Only one submission per person per submission period, by email, with “Glass Woman Prize Submission” in the subject line and the text pasted in the body of the email (no attachments!*) to:



– “Glass Woman Prize Submission” in subject line
– Text in body of email
– Please put your email address in the body of the email as well

Previous winning stories can be viewed HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *