The Broken River Prize/ How to Submit (Prize: $250 + more)
1 min read

The Broken River Prize/ How to Submit (Prize: $250 + more)

The Broken River Prize is a poetry prize hosted annually by Platypus Press. The prize, which is awarded for a chapbook manuscript, comes with a cash prize of $250 and publication of the manuscript. Last year, the Nigerian poet, Ojo Taiye, won the prize for his chapbook, Cotton Silence. The judge for the Broken River Prize this year is Kaveh Akbar, author of Calling a Wolf a Wolf. The deadline for submissions is July 31st, 2020


  • Poets from anywhere in the world can submit.
  • There is no submission fee.

How to Submit:

  • Submit a poetry manuscript of between 35 – 50 pages.
  • The manuscript must include a title page and an acknowledgement page.
  • The manuscript can include previously published poems, but at least a third of the poems in the manuscript must be unpublished.
  • The manuscript must not include images, artwork, and/ or erasure or found poetry.
  • In the body of your email include a brief third-person bio.
  • Submissions should be attached as doc or PDF files.
  • Do not double-space the manuscript, except it would appear that way in publication.
  • Simultaneous submissions are allowed, but inform the press if your manuscript gets accepted elsewhere.
  • Submit to:
  • The deadline for submissions is July 31st, 2020.
  • The winner and finalists will be announced in the fall of 2020.


  • Publication.
  • The winner of the Broken River Prize receives $250.
  • The winner will also receive 10 copies of the published book.
  • The finalists will also be considered for publication.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *