The Broken River Prize 2020/ How To Submit (Prize: 250$)
1 min read

The Broken River Prize 2020/ How To Submit (Prize: 250$)

The Broken River Prize is an annual poetry book contest from Platypus Press. Each year a different poet is assigned to judge the contest. 2020’s judge is poet and teacher Kaveh Akbar.

Important Notice

  • The deadline for submission is July 31st, 2020.
  • No entry fee is required.
  • Books should be  between 35–50 pages in length
  • Winners would have their poems published and would be given  $250/£200 prize money.
  • Finalists and winner will be announced in late 2020.
  • Finalists will be considered for publication.
  • The contest is open internationally.


Broken River Prize

How To Submit for The Broken River Prize

  • Please include a title page and acknowledgements section with your submission.
  • The manuscript does not need to be double-spaced unless intended to be published that way.
  • You can include previously published poems; however, Broken River would prefer that at least a third be unpublished.
  • They accept simultaneous submissions but please let them know if a submission has been accepted elsewhere.
  • All work submitted should be attached in a single .docx or PDF file, and your email must include a third-person bio.
  • Do not submit manuscripts that contain images, artwork, and/or erasure or found poetry.
  • The winner will receive ten (10) copies of the published book as well as the $250 prize money.


Click Here To Submit  


Do not sleep on this! Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *