Site icon Creative Writing News

The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards/ How to Submit (Prize: $10,000 + Publicity)

The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards is made to recognize the great works of authors who write to enable the understanding of racism and appreciate cultural diversity.

Awards for the Anisfield-Wolf Books, are given for fiction, poetry and nonfiction. For books published this year, the submission period begins September 1 and the deadline is December 31, 2023. The winners are announced in the spring.

To submit a book for the award, mail five copies of the book with one completed copy of the Entry Form to:

Karen R. Long
c/o Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards

The Cleveland Foundation
1422 Euclid Avenue, Suite 1608
Cleveland, OH 44115

Eligibility for the Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards

  • Books must be written in English and published and copyrighted in 2023 to be eligible for the 2024 prize.
  • Awards are given in fiction, poetry and nonfiction.
  • All submitted materials become the property of the Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards and will not be returned.
  • The deadline for submission is December 31. Entries arriving after the deadline must be postmarked by December 31 to be eligible.
  • The following are NOT eligible for consideration:
    • Plays
    • Screenplays
    • Works in progress
    • Manuscripts
    • Print-on-demand
    • Electronically published or e-books
    • Self-published works

Anisfield-Wood Book Awards

For Publishers – Prizes and Recognition

  • Anisfield-Wolf winners receive their prize at a ceremony in Cleveland in September.
  • Award recipients traditionally receive $10,000 from the Anisfield-Wolf fund.
  • Winners are required to participate in media interviews and publicity opportunities in conjunction with the prize.
  • Publishers are encouraged to congratulate their winners in advertisements and via social media.
  • Publishers are encouraged to mention the Anisfield-Wolf prize in new editions, general publicity and web posts about their winning authors.

Upon receipt, the books will be forwarded to the jury. All submitted materials become the property of the Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards and will not be returned. No electronic submissions of an author’s work of any kind are accepted.


  • The winner will receive 10,000 cash as well as media and publicity opportunities.
  • The winners will also receive their prize at a ceremony in Cleveland.
Exit mobile version