Meet The Regional Winners Of The 2017 Commonwealth Short Story Prize

May 23, 2017by Miriam David0

Yesterday, the Commonwealth Writers delightfully announced the regional winners of this year’s Commonwealth Short Story Prize. Out of 6000 entries, five wonderful stories scaled through the hurdles and emerged successful including one of our own!

Commonwealth Writers  partnered again with Granta magazine to give regional winners of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize the opportunity to be published by Granta online. The successful stories will be published on every Tuesday from 30 May until 27 June, in order from East to West across the Commonwealth. The overall winner will be announced in Singapore on Friday 30 June.


Below is the order in which the stories will be published:

‘The Death of Margaret Roe’, Nat Newman – 30 May

‘Drawing Lessons’, Anushka Jasraj – 6 June

‘Who is Like God’, Akwaeke Emezi – 13 June

‘The Naming of Moths’, Tracy Fells – 20 June

‘The Sweet Sop’, Ingrid Persaud – 27 June


Click here to see other stories in the shortlist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *