1 min read


The results for the Cecilia Unaegbu prize for flash fiction 2011 have been published. Here is the list of winners.

Search for my Father

Chioma Iwunze

Enugu, Nigeria

A Year in Paradise

Desiree Eniola Craig

Lagos, Nigeria


Yeku Babatude James

Ibadan, Nigeria

The winners will receive –in addition to their cash prizes – a copy of the book (WOMAN OF VIRTUE BOOK OF FAME, Containing FAR ABOVE RUBIES: The Biography of Mrs. Cecilia Unaegbu, biographies of extraordinary women, five stories from guest authors and a collection of all submitted Cecilia Unaegbu Prize stories) due out by December.

The consolation Prizes (Which is the published book) due out by December will go to:

Essien, Enobong Queen (Lagos, Nigeria)

Prosper Obum Anuforoh (Lagos, Nigeria)

Nnaji Chukwudi (Edo, Nigeria)

Karen Jennings (Cape Town, South Africa)

Augustine Ogwo (Lagos, Nigeria)

Annette Najjemba (Hoima, Uganda)

Akinde Hafiz Akinyemi (Kwara, Nigeria)

Muhammed Abdullahi Tosin (Lagos, Nigeria)

Oluwakemi Osoko (Lagos, Nigeria)

Attah Damian Uzochukwu Victor (Nsukka, Nigeria)

This is the inaugural edition of the prize. Entries were judged blind, with the final selection of the winners made by Unoma Azuah, the competition judge.

Winning entries will feature each for a week in the next thirteen weeks on Jeff Unaegbu’s blog and elsewhere. For more information, CLICK HERE.

You can also read the judge’s comments HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *