NLNG Literature Prize Shortlists 11 Authors
3 mins read

NLNG Literature Prize Shortlists 11 Authors

The Advisory Board for The Nigeria Prize for Literature, led by Emeritus Professor Ayo Banjo has announced an initial shortlist of eleven books, drawn from 173 books in contention for the 2016 Nigeria LNG Limited (NLNGsponsored Nigeria Prize for Literature).

The shortlist, according to a statement by Kudo Eresia-Eke General Manager, External Relations of NLNG is made up of entries from Nigerian writers at home and in diaspora, parades well-known writers as well as first time novelists.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature rotates yearly amongst four literary genres: prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature. The 2016 prize is for prose fiction and comes with a cash award of $100, 000.

The eleven authors whose books made the shortlist are:

  • Chika Unigwe  Night Dancer
  • Ogochukwu Promise  Sorrow’s Joy
  • Yejide Kilanko  Daughters Who Walk This Path
  • Ifeoma Okoye  The Fourth World
  • Sefi Atta   A Bit of Difference
  • Abubakar Ibrahim  Season of Crimson Blossoms
  • Ifeoluwa Adeniyi  On the Bank of the River.
  • Elnathan John  Born On A Tuesday
  • Aramide Segun  Eniitan Daughter of Destiny
  • Maryam Awaisu  Burning Bright
  • Mansim Chumah Okafor  The Parable of the Lost Shepherds.

The list was presented by the chairman, panel of judges for this year’s prize, Prof. Dan Izevbaye, well-respected literary critic and a professor of English Language at Bowen University, Iwo. Other members of the panel of judges include Professor Asabe Usman Kabir, Professor of Oral and African Literatures at Usmanu Danfodiyo University Sokoto and Professor Isidore Diala, a professor of African Literature at Imo State University, Owerri and first winner of The Nigeria Prize for Literary Criticism.

Next year’s genre will be poetry. A shortlist of three is expected in September and a winner, if any, will be announced by the Advisory Board in October.

Eresia-Eke said NLNG remains committed to responsible corporate citizenship and The Nigeria Prize for Literature is one of its numerous contributions towards building a better Nigeria.


About The Nigeria Prize For Literature

The Nigeria Prize for Literature has, since 2004, rewarded eminent writers such as Gabriel Okara (co-winner, 2004, poetry), Professor Ezenwa Ohaeto (co-winner, 2004, poetry) for The Dreamer, His Vision; Ahmed Yerima (2005, drama) for his play, Hard Ground;  Mabel Segun (co-winner, 2007, children’s literature) for her collection of short plays Reader’s Theatre; Professor Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo (co-winner, 2007, children’s literature) for her book, My Cousin Sammy; Kaine Agary (2008, prose) for her book Yellow Yellow; Esiaba Irobi (2010, drama) who clinched the prize posthumously with his book Cemetery Road; Adeleke Adeyemi (2011, children’s literature) with his book The Missing Clock; Chika Unigwe (2012, prose), with her novel, On Black Sisters Street; Tade Ipadeola (2013, poetry) with his collection of poems, The Sahara Testaments and Professor Sam Ukala (2014, drama) with his play, Iredi War.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *