Apply Now: 2018 Commonwealth Short Story Prize Is Open For Entries

It is a new season and the 2018 Commonwealth Short Story Prize has opened for submissions! The prize will remain open from 1 September 2017 to 1 November 2017. Start sending in your stories. Who knows? You might be the next winner.

Entry is free.

The Prize is awarded to the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000 – 5,000 words) in English; regional winners receive £2,500 and the overall winner receives £5,000. Stories translated into English are eligible, and this year entries in the original languages of Bengali, Chinese, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan and Tamil are welcome.

The five winning stories from the 2018 competition will be published online by Granta Magazine.

Find out more on their website for the entry and eligibility guidelines as well as the online entry form.

If you aren’t sure about where and how to start, you can read previous winners’ stories in Granta Magazine.

Good luck to you all.

Miriam David

Miriam is a creative writer, short story blogger, editor and contributor on . She is an alumnus of the great University of Benin, a philosopher and an aspiring author of best sellers to come. When she is not writing, she is either working, keeping up with social media trends,reading novels, listening to good music, seeing movies or dreaming up stories.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: