Brilliant Flash Fiction Contest / How To Apply (Prize: $370)

Brilliant Flash Fiction is an online quarterly literary journal launched in 2014 by Dawn Lowe and Laurie Scavo. Ed Higgins joined in 2015. The staff volunteer all the time. 

In October 2018, Brilliant Flash Fiction became a nonprofit organization with a five-member board of directors. Contributions made to Brilliant Flash Fiction are tax-deductible under IRS section 170. Donations go toward paying operating expenses.

Submissions are open 365 days a year, and there are no reading fees. Brilliant Flash Fiction welcomes submissions from writers at all levels of experience.

Eligibility for the Brilliant Flash Fiction Contest

  • The contest is open to writers worldwide, no age requirement.
  • No Entry Fee is required
  • Entries should be no more than 500 words, excluding title.
  • Submission must be made before the deadline: April 15, 2022
  • Submissions should be made via email to [email protected]

Brilliant Flash Fiction 2022

Submission Guidelines 

  • One entry per author.
  • Send your entry pasted into the body of an email and also as a Word attachment (in the same email) to [email protected]
  • Please place your story title in the subject line of your email.
  • Entries should be submitted double-spaced using font-size 12 pt. Times New Roman.
  • Your name or any other personal information should not be found within the story.
  • A brief author bio should be submitted in a separate attachment with your contest entry. Results will be announced sometime before June 30, 2022.
  • Authors retain all rights to submitted work.
  • The contest only accepts fiction. No poetry or essays.
  • All entries must be original and unpublished. This means submissions that have been accepted for publication anywhere else, including blogs, radio broadcast, personal web pages, etc., are not eligible.
  • Entries of more than 500 words or entries found to be published anywhere else will be immediately disqualified.
  • All winning and shortlisted entries will be published the official website.


$200.00 first prize
$100.00 second prize
$50.00 third prize

$20.00 and publication on the official website for shortlisted stories.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: