1 min read

2013 Commonwealth Book Prize and Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2013

Awarded for best first book, the Commonwealth Book Prize is open to writers who have had their first novel (full length work of fiction) published between 1 January and 31 December 2012. Regional winners receive £2,500 and the overall winner receives £10,000. 

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2000-5000 words). Regional winners receive £1,000 and the overall winner receives £5,000. The winners will be announced in June 2012. Writers are welcome to submit stories online from 24th October, 2012. To submit your short stories (in MS Word or PDF format), click HERE. Remember to wait till October 24th 2012.

Closing date for entries:
Commonwealth Book Prize to be announced soon
Commonwealth Short Story Prize will be announced soon.
The Commonwealth Foundation is an intergovernmental organisation established in 1965, resourced by and reporting to Commonwealth governments, and guided by Commonwealth values and priorities. It aims to strengthen civil society in the achievement of Commonwealth priorities – democracy and good governance, respect for human rights and gender equality, poverty eradication and sustainable, people-centred development, and to promote arts and culture.
Full rules and entry and eligibility information is available at www.commonwealthwriters.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *