28 May, 2024
The Granum Foundation Prize is awarded to give a US-based writer the opportunity to complete a substantive literary work or to commence one. An additional prize is awarded to a…
The Individual Artist Fellowship Program is here! The Individual Artist Fellowship program, administered by Mid Atlantic Arts, provides vital support for practicing New Jersey artists. Therefore, these artists includes those…
Essay writing can seem like a huge mountain to climb. You must be prepared if you want to be successful in it. But fear not! With the correct strategy, nothing…
Defector Media is a distinctive employee-owned sports and culture website born out of a desire to counter the flaws in modern media.  It stands apart by delving into sports, politics,…
Jenny Erpenbeck has been announced as the International Booker Prize 2024 winner for the book Kairos. On Tuesday, May 21st, 2024, at the International Booker Prize Ceremony, the winner was…

Next Newspapers Needs Writers

Next Newspapers (Timbuktu Media), Oregun, Lagos is looking for copy editors and re-writers for its quality control desk. The ideal candidate will be able to work in a fast-paced, deadline-oriented environment, along with an excellent grasp of spelling and grammar. This position requires nighttime and weekend work. We might also be willing to consider part-time […]

1 min read

The Ninth Glass Woman Prize

The Ninth Glass Woman Prize will be awarded for a work of short fiction or creative non-fiction (prose) written by a woman. Length: between 50 and 5,000 words. The top prize for the ninth Glass Woman Prize award is US $500 and possible (but not obligatory) online publication; there will also be one runner up […]

1 min read

The Fairbanks Fellowship for African Writers (Bread Loaf Writers Conference, Vermont)

All applicants are expected to submit an application and their supporting materials online, except for fellowship candidates who shall complete an online application as well as mail a copy of their book(s) to the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference office. To note: Applicants submit their top choices for workshop leader upon acceptance to the Conference, noting […]

6 mins read

African Writing Prize for Flash Fiction 2011

First place award: £100 & Publication for 8 shortlisted stories Competition Guidelines: Deadlines: Entries close – 31st January, 2011. Winners announced – 4th April, 2011. Stories must be previously unpublished (and must not be available on any blogs or publicly accessible online repositories). Stories must be the sole work of the entrant. Stories must be […]

1 min read