Apply For The Deborah Rogers Foundation’s £10,000 Writer’s Award

Oct 30, 2017by Miriam David0

One talented first-time prose writer will be presented with an award of £10,000 in the Deborah Rogers Foundation writer’s award. To be that talented winner, your submission has to demonstrate outstanding literary talent which will grant you the financial support to complete your work.


  • Submissions should take the form of 20-30,000 words of a work in progress, fiction or non-fiction, which is not under option or contract.
  • Applicants may not be under contract to any publisher for any work or title.
  • Applications are only open to writers who have not previously published or self-published a full-length book of their own prose writing (with the exception of a collection of poetry).
  • Entrants must write in the English language and reside within the British Commonwealth and Eire.
  • Only one submission per writer will be accepted.

Click here for a list of British Commonwealth countries.

Please Note: Submissions should be accompanied by a brief synopsis and a short biographical note. If you applied for the Writers award in 2016, you are eligible to re-apply. Submissions for the 2018 Writers’ Award opens on 1st October 2017 and close on the 13th December 2017. If your submission is on the long list you will be notified in March.

The shortlist will be announced in late April. The winner of the Award will be announced in London in mid-May at an event to which the three shortlisted authors will be invited. The panel of judges for the 2018 award consists of Anne Enright (Chair), Jenny Uglow and Pete Hobbs.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: